16 11 2008

Hello from the south of Spain!

It’s been a while since my last post, but, not to worry, my neglect most definitely does not come from lack of adventures.  Since my last entry in Porto we visited two cities in Portugal and are now in our third of three destinations in the south of Spain – Málaga.  We just arrived here a couple of hours ago so there isn’t too much to report thus far, but it seems like a lovely seaside city where we will probably do a fair amount of relaxing before starting our journey towards Italy in a couple of days.

Lisbon was the second city that we visited on our whirlwind tour of Portugal.  With it came the best accomodation we have stayed in so far, and some of the most amazing pastries I have ever tasted.  I said in my last post that our Porto hostel was the best so far, but Rossio Hostel in Lisbon went far above and beyond that (and was a lot warmer, too!).  The free breakfast in the morning consisted of either scrambled eggs and toast or crepes prepared by a wonderfully kind woman whose slight lack of mastery of the English language made her all the more endearing.  The kitchen and common room were great, and we enjoyed meeting some Canadians who put our cooking skills to shame.  As for the pastries, we had read about them in our Lonely Planet book (otherwise known as the bible these days) and decided to go seek them out at a cafe in Belém that supposedly had the most tasty ones.  They are called pasteis de nata (which translates roughly into cream pastries… I think… although my skills in Portuguese are sorely lacking).  They are incredible.  As soon as we ate our first bite of that first warm pastry with cinnamon and sugar on top, a love affair began that lasted all through the rest of our time in Portugal.  After we ate that first one we got two more each “for later”, but later ended up being about five minutes and 50 steps later when we couldn’t bear the temptation any more.  They don’t seem to have them in Spain, but I still catch Zevi wistfully peering into store windows of patisserias, hoping to catch sight of those little round pastries… sigh… I’m getting a little carried away.  

On to our next destination – Tavira, in the south of Portugal.  Tavira was a lovely relaxing break from our backpacking lifestyle.  Zevi had secretly booked a hotel for us to stay in for 3 nights, and we spent some lovely sunny afternoons lying by the pool and relaxing.  We were in Tavira for my birthday, so Zevi funded my very first massage (which, let me tell you, will not be my last massage.  It was more glorious than I ever could have imagined.) and we splurged on a nice restaurant that amounted to almost an entire days worth of euros in our normally ultra-tight budget.  I have never been so excited about having a bathroom to myself as I was when I arrived in our hotel suite in Tavira; it’s funny the little things that you realize that you take for granted when you share rooms with two to six strangers for three weeks.  We were suprised at how much we did miss the hostel lifestyle though, and especially the ability to cook for ourselves, so it was nice to hit the road again and get back into the backpacking swing of things.

Seville was our next destination, and from the second that we set foot in that city it captivated me.  I’m not exactly sure what it was that drew me to it, but Seville is a city where I could have stayed for much longer.  When we stepped off the train in search of our hostel we were met with the breathtaking site of the overwhemingly beautiful cathedral surrounded by fountains and orange trees heavy with fruit.  The whole cathedral area is lit up at night, giving the area an almost-otherworldly glow that never gets hard on the eyes.  Its old Jewish quarter is a mess of skinny streets and alleyways that wound and twisted enough to trip up even Zevi and his infalliable sense of direction.  Seville also struck me as a city that is full of life, with hoardes of partiers flowing out from bodegas and tapas bars even on a Sunday night.  Speaking of tapas, we have found none better than the ones we sampled in Seville, including my personal favorite –  deep fried camembert cheese doused in raspberry jam.  Perfect for all of you out there trying to watch your cholesterol… but then again, most delicious things are.  As you can gather from my glowing descriptions I became quite enamoured with Seville, and I was surprisingly sad to move on, much moreso than I had been from any other city.  I definitely plan to return some day.

Our trip is halfway over, and I can hardly believe it!  The time has flown by, although, looking back, we have seen and done a lot.  We are very excited to move on to Italy in a couple of days, and to actually get a chance to stay with some native Italians!  Hopefully I’ll get a chance to update this more often when I’m there, because I feel like I left so much out!

Hope all is well wherever you are.

Love Heather


Actions

Information

7 responses

16 11 2008
Rick Mogensen

Hey guys,

What a great adventure you are having! I’m getting really hungry as I read…

It’s great to be able to imagine what you guys are up to over there. Your writing is great! Have a great time in Italy!

love,

Rick & family

16 11 2008
Esther

Hi Heather and Zevi

Sounds incredibly lovely and yummy! I’ve been trying to google picture of the places that you go to – they look lovely but your descriptions really ‘bring them to life!’

Love Esther/ mom

16 11 2008
Josef

Hello Heather & Zevi:

We enjoy your blogs! Please write anytime you can.

I was in Seville, in 2001, and agree that it is a very special city, with beautiful palaces and gardens. This is also where I seen my first and only bull fight (or slaughter), as well as a flamenco dance concert. I hope you had a chance to see one as well (dance, not fight).

Love,

Josef/Dad

16 11 2008
karen

Hi Heather and Zevi,
Wow, another tasty description! It’s good to hear a new update!

I ‘m glad you enjoy the hostelling. Cooking for yourselves helps with the budget I know and is a good way to meet other travelers.

I hope you’ll be planning to host a big feast when you get home so we can sample some of these delicious foods that you will prepare for us?!

We’re just about finished painting Julia’s room. Must get back to it.

Love,
Mom

17 11 2008
Ken

Hi Heather and Zevi,
It was great to see a new posting today. Great writing as always. I was in Victoria on Friday and had a nice visit with Nannie and Grandpa along with Faye and family before returning Saturday morning. I then played two tennis matches yesterday afternoon (the singles club championships were on). After painting Julia’s room this morning I played again this afternoon before we went to John Hasselfield’s memorial service. It was an amazing affair, with many tributes, a slide show and singing, along with various individual testaments to his profound positive impact on so many people.

I just got back from my regular Sunday night Triwood hockey so I am feeling like I should get to bed soon.

It’s great to read about the marvelous time you are having over there.

Continue to enjoy!! We miss you!

Much love,
Dad

18 11 2008
Adair

Your descriptions of Seville & Portugal (& pasteis de nata!) remind me of my travels in 2006. I also fell in love with Seville-the sun, the oranges, the beautiful jewish quarter. I’ll return with you maybe one day? I can’t wait to hopefully do some travelling…although I do keep discovering more parts of Lyon & falling more in love with the city.

I get my work schedule friday (if I understood properly) & I can hopefully find some time to come down to Italy because I want to so badly! I will let you guys know soon!

Miss you guys!
Love,
Alanna

22 11 2008
Helen and Jean

Hi Heather and Zevi
It’s wonderful to have Jean here to read about your travels. I am making slow progress but can’t walk alone yet. Adriana is coming over in a few minutes to visit us. We are going to Ruth’s for lunch tomorrow. It is a beautiful sunny day here in Victoria. Jean and I are going to make applesauce later on today.
love, Nannie.

Hi guys! It is great to hear about your travels – I am happy to hear you enjoyed
Seville so much – as it definitely has a special spot in my heart. As you know I spent 2 months there and when Marc and I visited it last year – it was so much fun to see it again. It is nice to be out in Victoria for a few days. We have Nannie and Grandpa set up with the laptop – so it should be easier for them to read your next blog!
love, Jean

Leave a comment