La vie est belle…

19 10 2008

Bon soir!  I guess over there it would still be bon apres-midi, so I hope that everyone is having a nice, relaxing Sunday.

Zevi and I arrived in Paris after about 14 hours of travelling on Thursday afternoon, and got to our hostel around 4:00.  We got right into the Paresian swing of things after checking in and dropping off our mammoth bags by finding the nearest boulangerie and purchasing a still-warm baguette, and then going to the grocery store and getting some sort of incredibly rich cheese to go along with it.  By the time we managed to get the cheese I had already polished off about a quarter of the baguette, much to Zevi’s chagrin, but if you were holding a fresh loaf of french bread (and that’s genuine French bread, not that imitation stuff Safeway makes) you would do the exact same thing.  Trust me.  Needless to say, we have had our fair share of bread, butter and cheese related products since arriving here… croissants for breakfast, baguette sandwiches for lunch and crepes for dinner.  C’est delicieux!

We’ve seen all of your average touristy Paresian sights, and, I must say, I’m a much bigger fan of Paris this time around than I was when I was 14.  On Friday we walked all the way from the Arc de Triomphe (which I didn’t dismiss as unworthy of my time, as I did 8 years ago) to Esplanade de la Defense, which was definitely one of the highlights of our time spent here.  The amazing modern architecture of La Defense made up for my sore and tired feet in spades.  What an incredible place.  Today we napped in the sun on the lawn in front of la Cathedrale de Sacre Coeur after taking a walk through the eerie confines of the Catacombes.  Contrasting scenes, but both beautiful in their own rights.

We are off to Barcelona in a few hours!  I hope that life is treating you as well as it is treating us.

Much Love

-Heather


Actions

Information

6 responses

19 10 2008
Adair

I hope that you not only had croissants for breakfast but also pain-au-chocolat. Far better & far more addicting…in my opinion, anyways. & I know many people who agree with me on the matter!

can’t wait to hear what you think of barcelona! it’s one of my favourite cities (although that list is getting really quite long…).

love always,
a

ps. i hate when my computer tells me i’m spelling favourite wrong! god, I’m Canadian! Have some pride, little macbook!

20 10 2008
Dad

Hi Heather and Zevi,
Great to hear that you arrived safely. It’s hard to believe that it was 8 years ago that we visited there as a family, including our crazy time on the first day trying to find our hotel. Did you happen to see that hotel?

Everyone is fine here. We really enjoyed the Aberhart talent show that Julia organized. Stephen had his bike stolen which is a real downer but c’est la vie.

We’ll look forward to more updates from Spain! Heather, I hope that you’ve got some good walking shoes!

Much love,
Dad

20 10 2008
Caleigh

bread….

you have me dreaming about bread. sad.

20 10 2008
Adair

why is my comment awaiting moderation?

24 10 2008
Mom

Hi Heather,
I thought I had responded to your Paris reflections but I haven’t! Glad to hear that you enjoyed Paris. It is an amazing city.
I bet you’ll want to return.

I had a great time tonight at a Storytree Family dinner and heard lots of fascinating tales.

I read through the latest Icelandic Paper (Logberg-H) when I got home and saw your picture in there from the Fall Feast. Nice! Maybe you could submit something to them as a wandering Snorri on your pilgrmage to Rome? It is a common theme in the anciant sagas! Yours would fit right in.

Must go.
Love,
Mom

24 10 2008
Mom

I mean ancient!

Leave a comment